Business is Booming!

The importance of the handshake in Business cannot be ignored. A simple handshake leaves an impression on a person that can be incredibly influential. Too limp a handshake can show a lack of confidence, while too strong can show dominance and power issues. It is crucial to develop the perfect handshake.

Over the summer I spent hours refining my handshake. I felt that with graduation quickly approaching it is no longer acceptable to tickle the palm of my potential future employer with my index finger mid-handshake.

The Business Shake

Never lead with your thumb (the submarine thumb guided shake into your partner’s forearm isn’t funny when you are trying to get hired at an accounting firm). I am confident that since refining my handshake habits I am ready to shake hands with anyone that I am introduced to.

Today I attended the Clubs Fair in Business Quad at the Alberta School of Business. It was a great opportunity to meet the club representatives and find out exactly what they were promoting throughout the year. I signed up for a few newsletters and was rewarded with “free swag” (I guess this is the new way to say free stuff). I am looking forward to receiving more information about potential opportunities that the various clubs in Business have to offer.

It is a pretty rare occurrence that I step foot in a library prior to the third week of school. However, I caught wind that the Winspear Business Library was serving cake and coffee to all Business students. I thought that I could spend a few hours in the library getting organized and completing a few readings before my next class. Besides it is pretty rare that I can have my cake and eat it too.

Winspear Business Library's Spin Wheel

I found out that they also had a wheel that you could spin and win more “free swag” (I never thought that I could have too much “free swag”).  If the Winspear Business Library offered free cake and coffee all the time I would never leave (someone should do a study on the positive correlation between free cake in the library and a Business student’s GPA).

I anticipate coming out of the gates hot at the start of this year: staying organized, reviewing daily, and reading before class. I will keep you updated on how this turns out when assignments, group projects, and exams start piling on!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Business is Booming!

  1. Pingback: Down to Business: Networking Tips | BCom Blogger

Leave a Reply

