Personal Investment: A Business Story

“I am still learning.” – Michelangelo

I’ve been told that post-secondary education is all about learning about who you are. One can discover their strengths and weaknesses and improve upon them during the 4-year (5 ½ year for me!), 120 credit journey to the illustrious undergraduate degree. Some days the journey is comparable to tossing your family sedan (shared with your siblings) on cruise control at 55 km/h driving down a 60 km/h posted limit residential street with the seat leaned back and your arm out the window (not that cool in a 1996 forest green Ford Taurus). Other days you’ll find yourself grinding in the basement of a building at 11:30 pm calculating how many hours of sleep you’ll get if you fall asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow (never works out that way – too jacked up on XL coffees from Cookies by George), so you can be rested for your presentation at 8 am the following morning.

Anyways…on Thursday, March 29th, the University of Alberta Marketing Association (UAMA) with support from the School of Retailing, hosted the annual Marketing Wine & Cheese Mixer. Somehow I ended up being responsible for quarterbacking this event.

From Left to Right: Lindsay Walker (Director of External Relations - UAMA), Ronda Nedelec (Zag Creative Group), Sam Dean (me)

It is important to keep in mind that two of my many weaknesses include lack of organization and ability to long-term plan (I’m a strong supporter of “wingin’ it” and “what’s the worst case scenario?”). However I agreed to take this one on, thinking that I, like the NFL’s Tim Tebow, could get lucky and throw for a touchdown once in awhile.

During the days leading up to Thursday my constant fear was that no one would show up and I’d be horribly embarrassed in front of my Business school peers. This fear motivated me to spend extra time planning and making sure I had invited the right corporates and enough students to fill the room (leveraging a few friendships). Well, after forcing myself to actually sit down and get organized details started to fall into place. I was lucky enough to have significant support from the School of Retailing and a few individuals in the UAMA, which I was able to utilize when I was completely lost/confused/dummied.  The event turned out great – around 100 people showed up (40 corporates and 60 students) and everyone was happy with the keynote speech, wine, and food (heck of a spread). I was able to walk away from the evening knowing I had accomplished something in spite of my weaknesses. Getting involved in student organizations can force you to grow personally and help you out down the road. That being said, I would never make it in this world as a wedding planner.

On a completely unrelated note, I will be attending the Dean’s Welcome Night on Thursday evening. I am looking forward to meeting all of the early-admitted BCom students (hopefully finding someone to carry on the BCom Blogger legacy)… No one enjoys light refreshments and engaging conversations more than me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Personal Investment: A Business Story

  1. So proud of you Sam Dean!

  2. Congratulation to you,i see how excited you are,business world is full of challenges i see in future you will be great.

Leave a Reply

